Becoming a licensed real estate professional in Florida is easier than most may think! If you want to help buyers and sellers buy and sell real estate, then a real estate career may be for you.
What license do I need to become a real estate agent?
Your real estate career begins with a real estate sales associate license, also known as a real estate salesperson.
If you already have at least two (2) years of licensed real estate experience from another state within the last 5 years, you may be able to jump straight into a real estate broker license. View the Florida Real Estate Broker License Requirements for more details.
What course do I need to become a real estate agent?
To start, you'll need to complete a Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) approved 63-hour pre-licensing course from a licensed real estate school. This course will help you prepare for the exam and cover state specific real estate laws and practices you'll need to know to pass the exams.
The course can be completed in an instructor-led classroom or virtual livestream or a self-guided on-demand online course.
What state requirements are needed to become a real estate agent in Florida?
18 Years of Age or Older
High School Diploma
Possess a US Social Security Number (SSN)
Complete Education Requirements (Course & Exams)
View our in-depth guide on How to Get a Florida Real Estate License.
What other steps are required to get a Florida Sales Associate License?
In addition to the pre-licensing course, you must also get fingerprinted, file an application with the state of Florida and pass the state exam. Here's what you'll need to check off the list.
Enroll in the 63-Hour Pre-Licensing Course
Submit Fingerprints to DBPR
File Application with DBPR
Schedule Sate Exam with Pearson VUE
You can use your license for several different real estate industries. These include: residential, commercial, industrial, agricultural & business opportunities.
Are the real estate estate exams hard?
To become licensed, you'll need to pass two (2) different exams. At the end of your pre-licensing class, you must pass the end of course exam with at least 70%. The exam is 100 questions and all answers are multiple choice.
After you pass you end of course exam, you will receive a completion certificate that will present to the state testing agency, Pearson VUE. To pass the state exam, you must score at least a 75%. Again the exam is 100 questions, and all answers are multiple choice.
The exams will test you on the material of the course, not how smart you are or how good of a test taker. The pre-licensing course will teach you everything that can be tested on the exam.
To help you pass, check out our Recommended Pass First Try Strategy and exams prep tools.
What's next after I become a real estate agent?
After you've passed your licensing exam, you can now join either a broker or owner developer. At a brokerage, you're more like a business within a business. Whereas at a developer, such as a new home builder, you are a direct employee of the developer.
At a brokerage, you help buyers and seller buy and sell homes that you don't own. You can also help with rentals and property management once you're licensed as well. At a brokerage, you're basically a middleman between the buyer and the seller.
At a developer, such as a new home builder, you are only able to sell properties owned by the developer. This means you can't help just any buyer or seller, but only people interested in buying property from your developer.
Most agents typically join a real estate broker, especially if you want to eventually become a broker yourself.
Do I need to join the National Association of Realtors®?
Most real estate agents join the local real estate association of Realtors®. By joining the local association, you will also be enrolled in the state and national boards.
Members of the national association of Realtors® get many benefits such as the Multiple Listing Service (MLS), fill in the blank contracts, public record databases and more.
If you do not wish to join the Association of Realtors®, you must register you license with a brokerage who is also not a member.
How do I keep my real estate license valid?
Your real estate education does not end after you pass your real estate license exam. To renew your sales associate license, you will need to complete a 45-hour Post Licensing course. You are eligible to take this course as soon as you're licensed and it will teach you valuable real world knowledge that goes beyond the real estate laws you learn about in pre-licensing. Check out our Post Licensing Renewal Guide.
Every two (2) years after you first renewal, you'll be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education to keep you current and up to date on changes to laws and practice.
Live Every Wednesday at 12 Noon EST Tune in at 12 Noon EST for Ask the Instructor! For more exam prep tools or to enroll an a Florida real estate license course visit TampaSchoolofRealEstate.com or call us at (813) 928-0106 You can also
Enter promo code
Enter your discount code here
✔️ Discount code found, it will be applied at checkout.
Discount code cannot be applied to the cart.
The discount code cannot be applied to the cart. Please ensure the cart meets the requirements to apply this discount code.
Please provide a valid discount code.
Discount code cannot be combined with the offers applied to the cart.