HOW TO GET A FLORIDA

REAL ESTATE LICENSE

Learn More About The Process

A Career In Real Estate

Unlimited Income Potential

Unlimited Income Potential

Be Your Own Boss

Be Your Own Boss

Schedule Flexibility

Schedule Flexibility

Investment Opportunities

Investment Opportunities

Full Time Of Part Time

Full Time Of Part Time

Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Florida Real Estate License Requirements

18 Years Old

High School Diploma or Equivalent

US Social Security Number** (Apply for US Social Security Number)

Approval of FL Application

Complete Pre-License Course

Pass Course Exam (70%)

Pass State Exam (75%)

**US Citizenship & Florida Residency are NOT Required. (Apply for US SSN)

How To Get A Florida Real Estate License

How To Get A Florida Real Estate License
  1. Enroll in Pre-Licensing Course
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. File DBPR Application
  4. Schedule State Exam
  5. Pass End of Course Exam
  6. Pass State Exam
  1. Enroll in Pre-Licensing Course
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. File DBPR Application
  4. Schedule State Exam
  5. Pass End of Course Exam
  6. Pass State Exam
  1. Enroll in Pre-Licensing Course
  2. Complete Fingerprinting
  3. File DBPR Application
  4. Schedule State Exam
  5. Pass End of Course Exam
  6. Pass State Exam

1. Enroll in Pre-Licensing Course

The FREC requires the successful completion of a 63-hour pre-licensing course. This course can be taken online or in a classroom. This class is designed to teach you everything you need to know to pass your exams as well as valuable information for your new career.

How long to complete the pre-licensing course?

Even though the FREC requires a "63-hour" pre-licensing course, most students complete the required course in less time.

Our interactive online course is on-demand, self-paced & available 24/7. We've seen students fly through the course is less than 40 hours, or you can take up to one year to complete. Click here for more info.

In the classroom course, we have morning classes, evening classes & day classes that can be completed in under two weeks.
Click here for more info.

2. Complete Fingerprinting

The FREC requires a FDLE & FBI background checks be completed for all license applicants. You will be required to have your fingerprints taken as part of the background check process.

Where Can Fingerprints be Taken?

Electronic fingerprinting is offered on-site at all of our classroom locations on certain days before or after classes. In-Class fingerprinting Cost: $78.50. For more information about scheduling fingerprinting appointment in Tampa, click here.

Fingerprinting at Home Kit

Order an at-home fingerprint card that you will mail in for processing. Everything need to roll your own fingerprints is included in the kit. For more information about out of state fingerprinting card, click here.

Can You Get a Florida Real Estate License with a Felony?

You may be able to get a real estate license with a criminal background. The FREC decides on a case-by-case basis what applicants with a criminal background will be approved.

You will be required to submit supporting documentation regarding the charges on your application. A criminal background may cause you application to take up to 90 days to be processed.

For more information about becoming a real estate agent with a criminal background, click here.

Can You Reuse Previous Fingerprints?

Due to DBPR rules, you may not reuse any previous fingerprints for your real estate license.

3. File DBPR Application

To become a real estate licensee in Florida, you must file a license application with the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR). Your application is submitted to the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR).

How long does it take for a real estate license application to be approved?

Typically about a week once both your fingerprints and application are received. If you have a criminal background, have held a license in another state, or the DBPR is receiving more applications than normal, it may take as long as 90 days.

4. Schedule State Exam

After your DBPR application is approved, you may schedule your state exam. You'll receive an email from Pearson VUE with your FLREAPP number.

When Should You File the Application?

As soon as possible! You do not have to be enrolled in the course to file the application.

To ensure you can take the state exam as soon as you finish the course, you'll want your application already approved and your exam already scheduled.

Anytime spent waiting after the course is more time to forget what you learned.

How to File Real Estate License Application?

Your application must be submitted to the Florida DBPR. This can be done electronically or by mail. We recommend filing electronically on the DBPR website for the fastest response.

For more information about Florida Real Estate License Application, click here.

5. Pass End of Course Exam

To be eligible to take the state exam, you must successfully pass that end of course exam. A score of 70% or higher is required to pass the end of course exam. This means you must correctly answer at least 70 of the 100 multiple choice questions.

How Many Questions is the End of Course Exam?

The end of course exam consists of 100 questions. The questions are A, B, C, D multiple choice.

What Score is Needed to Pass the End of Course Exam?

A score of 70% or higher is required to pass the end of course exam. This means you must correctly answer at least 70 of the 100 multiple choice questions.

How Long to Complete the End of Course Exam?

You will have up to three (3) hours to complete the end of course exam. Once you have started the exam, you are unable to restart or pause the exam.

Does the Exam Have Math Problems?

Yes, but only 10. You could miss every single math question and still get a 90%. The math is fairly predictable when you have practiced, so these could also be an easy 10 points to get.

Do I Need to Schedule the End of Course Exam?

You do not need to schedule the end of course exam. If you are taking a classroom course, the exam will be given on the last day of class. If you are taking the online course, you can start the exam once you have completed all of the units of the course.

What Happens If You Fail the End of Course Exam?

If you do not score at least 70% on the end of course exam, FREC rules require that you wait 30 days before you can retake a different version of the exam.

If you do not pass on the second attempt of your exam, FREC rules require that you retake the course again in full.

Under our 1-Year Retake Guarantee, as long as you retake the course within 1-year of the start date of your course, we do not charge any retake fees. Retakes are subject to space availability.

Are There Additional Study Tools for the End of Course Exam?

Yes, there are additional study tools you can purchase to ensure your preparedness for the exam.

We recommend you review our Pass First Try Strategy, our recommended strategy to pass your class & state exams on the first try.

We created our Pass First Try Strategy to help our simplify the process of studying for the real estate exams. For more information about our recommended strategy, click here.

6. Pass State Exam

Your final step in the licensing process is to pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate State Exam.

How Many Questions is the Florida Real Estate Exam?

The state exam consists of 100 questions. The questions are A, B, C, D multiple choice, just like the end of course exam.

What Score is Needed to Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam?

A score of 75% or higher is required to pass the state exam. This means you must correctly answer at least 75 of the 100 multiple choice questions.

How Long to Complete the Florida Real Estate Exam?

You will have up to three and a half (3.5) hours to complete the state exam. Once you have started the state exam, you are unable to restart or pause the exam.

Does the Exam Have Math Problems?

Yes, but just like the end of course exam, only 10. You could miss every single math question and still get a 90%. The math is fairly predictable when you have practiced, so these could also be an easy 10 points to get.

Do I Need to Schedule the Florida Real Estate Exam?

Yes, after your DBPR application is approved, you may schedule your exam. See above for further details on scheduling.

What Happens If You Fail the Florida Real Estate Exam?

Unlike the end of course exam, there is no waiting period to retake the state exam. You can retake the state exam as soon as you can get another appointment.

You will receive a printout of your results at the testing center. This will show you the units where you missed the most questions.Use this as a guide of what areas you need to review before your next exam appointment.

Should I Pay to Review My Exam?

Pearson VUE offers an option to pay to review your most recent exam attempt.

Since the state exam pulls from such a large pool of questions, you are unlikely to see the same questions again. You also are not allowed to take any notes. Therefore, we do not recommend that you pay to review your exam.

How Hard is the Florida Real Estate Exam?

The pass rate for first time real estate exam takers throughout the entire state of Florida typically averages 50%.

This test is not designed to test your level of intelligence, but your memory and understanding of the material taught in the course. Wrong answers are designed to sound more correct if you are just going off general knowledge/common sense.

Are There Additional Study Tools for the End of Course Exam?

Yes, there are additional study tools you can purchase to ensure your preparedness for the exam.

We recommend you review our Pass First Try Strategy, our recommended strategy to pass your class & state exams on the first try.

We created our Pass First Try Strategy to help our simplify the process of studying for the real estate exams. For more information about our recommended strategy, click here.

Learn More About The Process

How Much Does A Florida Real Estate License Cost?

This is not a one-time payment. You can start your licensure process by enrolling first on the required pre-license course and pay the necessary fees as you go through on other steps.

Particulars Cost

Required Pre-License Course

$297 - $497

Fingerprinting

$82.50

DBPR License Application

$83.75

State Exam (Per Attempt)

$38.75

Total

$502 - $702

Licensing fees may change periodically.
Please contact us to verify current licensing costs.

Learn More About The Process



START YOUR FLORIDA REAL ESTATE career
Choose the Course Bundle RIght to Start Your New Career!

BEST PRICE - TEXT BASED

OnLINE COURSE

FL 45-Hour Sales Associate Post Licensing Online Course LEAP

$497

Sold out

No Interest Payment Plans Available through ShopPay/Affirm at Checkout

✅ From basic to advanced topics, we’ve made our real estate pre-licensing online courses the most comprehensive in Florida.

✅ You can review lessons at your own pace (100% mobile compatible).

✅ Take up to five different types of interactive exercises, rendering a more enjoyable learning experience than typical textbooks that are crammed into fewer pages and skimp on graphics and visuals.

✅ Text-Based Information that is Updated for Your Mastery of Each Subject.

VIDEO BASED ON DEMAND

OnLINE CLASS (VIDEO BASED)

FL 45-Hour Sales Associate Post Licensing Online Course LEAP

$997

Sold out

No Interest Payment Plans Available through ShopPay/Affirm at Checkout

Sharpen your knowledge with FL Sales Associate Textbook that were compiled

✅ Pivot your way to passing the pre-licensure exam with short, easy-to-follow videos that will supplement your textual learning.

Includes quick knowledge checkpoints to assess your learning each day and backed it up with important key notes to boost your topic retention.

✅ Get yourself prepared with a Practice Exam & Online Final which were designed to carry out simulated examination experience for better results.

LIVE INSTRUCTOR

IN-PERSON & LIVESTREAMS

LIVESTREAM | Apr 18 9:15am | 63 HR FL Sales Associate Pre-Licensing Course SLPRE Tampa School of Real Estate
LIVESTREAM | Apr 18 9:15am | 63 HR FL Sales Associate Pre-Licensing Course SLPRE Tampa School of Real Estate

LIVESTREAM

$997

$397

IN-PERSON

$997

$497

No Interest Payment Plans Available through ShopPay/Affirm at Checkout

Dive into a real exam environment with a livestream classroom setup that allows students to ask live questions to their teachers.

Gain full mastery of each pre-licensing subject with atextbook that is carefully created to hit important learning points.

Access the livestream class with its full-range schedule list so you get to choose the time best for your learning.

✅ Equipped with digital materials, this package offers you yet another comprehensive guideline to winning the opre-licensing exam.

Tampa School of Real Estate is the highest rated real estate license school in Tampa. Received over 1,248 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5.

Starting a Real Estate Career in Florida

Once you pass your sate exam, you will be immediately issued your Florida Real Estate License! Now what's next?

Starting a Real Estate Career in Florida

At the Tampa School of Real Estate, we want to be your real estate education provider for the life of your real estate career. Your success is our success. That's why we started The Success Center at the Tampa School of Real Estate. On the Success Center you'll find hundred of videos, articles and calculators to help you launch and grow your real estate career.

Check-out Our Recommendations For Some Of The Most Helpful Topics To Help You Start A Successful Real Estate Career